DEI Committee

In the fall of 2023, Stevens’ Executive Director of DEI, Susan Metz, convened the inaugural DEI Committee, a group of faculty and administrators representing a wide range of functional areas at the University. The charge of this newly created committee is to facilitate campus efforts to achieve Goal 6 in Stevens’ Strategic Plan. This strategic commitment states:   

GOAL 6: DIVERSITY, EQUITY AND INCLUSION– Attract and retain an outstanding community of faculty, staff and students from diverse backgrounds and cultivate a supportive, inclusive learning and working environment that contributes to a technologically proficient workforce that is representative of our diverse society.  

Key outcomes of the committee include: 

  1. Increased communication and awareness related to any and all updates and information relevant to diversity, equity, and inclusion throughout all areas of the campus community; 

  2. Identification of gaps and needs, along with initiatives and interventions that help to actualize our diversity, equity, and inclusion goals across campus;  

  3. collaborations with and beyond the campus community to strengthen ongoing and developing programs and initiatives. 

The committee is comprised of faculty and administrators involved in the numerous efforts campus-wide to make progress towards strategic goal six.

Deborah Berkley

Dean, Student Development & Enrichment Programs

Liliana Delman Head ShotLiliana Delman

Director, Office of Student Culture and Belonging

Jessica de Veyga head shotJessica de Veyga

Assistant Dean of Faculty Affairs

VGW DEI Commitee Head ShotValerie Guerrero Williamson 

Director of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion

Leslie Jenkins headshotLeslie Jenkins

Assistant Dean for Administration, Finance and Faculty, School of Systems and Enterprises

Annie McGuinness DEI Head ShotAnnie McGuinness

Assistant Director of Alumni Engagement

Amanda Mendez

Associate Director of Graduate Admissions

Vicky Ocasio Head ShotVicky Ocasio  

Assistant Vice President for Financial Aid

Theresa Pascoe  

Associate Vice President for Finance

Francisco PerezFrancisco Perez

HR Business Partner

Ryan Roche Head ShotRyan Roche

Assistant Director for First Generation & Limited Income (FGLI)

Joelle Saad-Lessler Headshot DEIJoelle Saad-Lessler

Industry Professor & Associate Dean of Undergraduate Studies, School of Business

Ron Silvis Headshot DEI Ron Silvis

Director , Teaching and Learning Center

Jeff Thompson

Associate Professor, School of Humanities, Arts and Social Sciences