Seal of the university

Leadership & Vision

Stevens President Nariman Farvardin has served the university since July 2011. Working with his cabinet, the Stevens Board of Trustees and an advisory Leadership Council, and guided by a detailed 10-year Strategic Plan, his leadership reflects Stevens' commitments to collaboration, impact and the leveraging of technology to solve society's most pressing challenges.

Stevens Institute of Technology is a private co-educational research institution. Stevens Institute of Technology was created by act of the New Jersey legislature in 1870 and operates as a tax-exempt organization under Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code. As a private institution, Stevens is governed by its Board of Trustees, operating under the By-Laws of the University, and by its President.

The upward trajectory of Stevens over the last 10 years is nothing short of remarkable. With this foundation in place, the sky’s the limit.
Dr. Nariman Farvardin President
President Nariman Farvardin

President Nariman Farvardin

Appointed by the Board of Trustees, the president of Stevens Institute of Technology is responsible for supervision of all university affairs and for overseeing progress toward the university’s strategic goals. The president works closely with the provost, who oversees all academic programs and assumes the responsibilities of the president in the president's absence, and the vice presidents who lead major administrative divisions within the university. Dr. Nariman Farvardin became the seventh president of Stevens Institute of Technology in July 2011 and has been the driving force for the development and implementation of an ambitious 10-year Strategic Plan, entitled, The Future. Ours to Create., which aims to transform Stevens into a "premier, student-centric, technological research university."

Stephen Boswell portrait

Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees is responsible for overseeing the financial, administrative and academic affairs of Stevens. The Board is comprised of men and women who are accomplished professionals, business executives and educators, several of whom sit on the boards of leading corporations, international organizations and non-profits.

Jianmin Qu

Office of the Provost

The provost and senior vice president for academic affairs serves as the chief academic officer of Stevens Institute of Technology and co-leads the university’s budget and budget process with the chief financial officer. He is the university’s highest-ranking official after the president. Responsible for all academic departments, schools, colleges and research centers, the provost ensures that Stevens maintains the culture and deploys the human and physical infrastructure necessary to achieve its academic mission.

President's Leadership Council and President's Cabinet

EAS building in the sun.

President's Leadership Council

The President’s Leadership Council, a distinguished cadre of extremely accomplished thought leaders from academe, industry, and the non-profit sectors, has been established to complement and propel the work of the Board of Trustees. Members of this Council will lend their varied perspectives and broad and deep expertise to provide guidance to the President and the Board as they navigate the abundant opportunities and ongoing challenges that lie ahead for the university.

The Torch Bearers sculpture on Stevens campus.

President's Cabinet

The President's Cabinet comprises 11 senior academic and administrative leaders who are responsible for advising the President on institutional decision-making across major university divisions, developing and implementing policy, overseeing core operations of the university, and acting as stewards in guiding the university toward strategic goals.