It is my great honor and privilege to lead the Schaefer School of Engineering and Science (SES). With the tremendous talent at Stevens, rich history in technology innovation, geographical proximity to leaders in industry and academia, and the school's upward trajectory, I am confident that we will establish wide collaborations on all levels and move SES to a new level of excellence. Together, we will build a world-class, prominent school of engineering and science.

Dr. Jean Zu

Meet the Dean

Jean Zu
Dean Jean Zu

Dr. Jean Zu is the Dean of the Charles V. Schaefer, Jr. School of Engineering and Science and a Professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering. Her research is focused on mechanical vibrations and dynamics and mechatronics, particularly in areas of biomedical instrumentation and energy harvesting. Dr. Zu holds B.S. and M.S. degrees from Tsinghua University and Ph.D. from the University of Manitoba, and has published over 340 papers including more than 170 journal papers. 

Dr. Zu’s academic career started as a lecturer and researcher at Tsinghua University in China in 1987-88. She joined the University of Toronto as a faculty member in the Department of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering department in 1994. She made history at the University of Toronto by becoming the first female and Asian Department Chair in 2009, a role she served until she joined Stevens on May 1, 2017 as Dean.

Over the course of her 30-year career in academia, Dr. Zu has worked extensively to raise both awareness and funding for engineering programs at the University of Toronto and across Canada. She is Fellow of the Canadian Academy of Engineering (CAE), Engineering Institute of Canada (EIC), the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) and the Canadian Society of Mechanical Engineering (CSME). She served as president of the CSME from 2006 to 2008, on the Grant Selection Committee of the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC) from 2004 to 2007, and as the Associate Editor of the ASME Journal of Vibrations and Acoustics from 2007 to 2013. She served as President of Engineering Institute of Canada in 2012 to 2014.