Institutional Profile & Governance

Institutional Profile

Stevens Institute of Technology, The Innovation University™, is a private co-educational institution of higher learning founded in 1870. Stevens is located on a 55-acre campus in Hoboken, New Jersey. It overlooks the Hudson River and has stunning views of the Manhattan skyline of New York City.

At present, Stevens consists of three schools and one college: the School of Business, the Charles V. Schaefer Jr. School of Engineering and Sciences (SES), the School of Systems and Enterprises (SSE) and the College of Arts and Letters (CAL). The College of Arts and Letters offers a single Bachelor of Arts degree, a double Bachelor of Arts degree, an undergraduate minor, and a master's degree program. The remaining three schools individually offer bachelor's, master's, and doctoral degrees. The Institute also offers multidisciplinary and interdisciplinary programs at the graduate level. Stevens also maintains research centers involved in niche areas which support its academic mission.

At the undergraduate level Stevens offers four-year full-time and five-year cooperative educational experiences leading to Bachelor of Science, Bachelor of Engineering, and Bachelor of Arts degrees. Undergraduate courses are taught in the traditional classroom mode supported by a variety of digital learning platforms and experiential learning programs.

At the graduate level Stevens offers master's degrees in science, engineering, business and technology management on campus, primarily during the evening hours. Stevens also offers off-campus programs at industrial and government sites, and it offers many master's programs in the online mode through its WebCampus platform. Most of our PhD students study full-time on campus. Interdisciplinary master's programs and interdisciplinary PhD programs are also available.

University Governance

The legal powers of Stevens are vested in the Board of Trustees of the university. The Board of Trustees is responsible for overseeing the financial, administrative and academic affairs of Stevens. The Chief Administrative Office is that of the President of Stevens; Dr. Nariman Farvardin was installed as Stevens’ seventh president on July 1, 2011.

Academic authority resides with Provost and University Vice President Dr. George Korfiatis, who reports to the President. The non-academic administrators directly responsible to the president are: Elisabeth McGrath, Chief of Staff/Director of Community & State Relations; Louis Mayer, Vice President of Finance and Treasurer, and Chief Financial Officer; Marybeth Murphy, Vice President for Enrollment Management and Student Affairs; Brodie Remington, Vice President for Development; Edward Stukane, Vice President for Communications and Marketing; David Dodd, Vice President for Information Technology and Chief Information Officer; Robert Maffia, Vice President for Facilities and Campus Operations; Kathy Schulz, Vice President, General Counsel and Secretary; and Susan Metz, Executive Director of Diversity & Inclusion, and Senior Research Associate.

For operational purposes, those listed above constitute the President’s Cabinet, and they also comprise the Administrative Council. The President’s Cabinet meets weekly. In addition, the Administrative Council meets at regular intervals without the President and is chaired by the Provost and university Vice President.

Key positions reporting directly to the Provost and University Vice President were created as a result of a reorganization to address key academic goals of the strategic plan. The positions of Vice Provost of Strategic Initiatives and Vice Provost of Academics were established in Fall 2011 and Spring 2013 respectively. The links represent the current organizational charts for Stevens, as well as the Office of the Provost and the University Vice President.

The Academic Council, organized under the leadership of the Provost and University Vice President includes the Deans of the three schools and the college, the Vice Provost of Innovation and Entrepreneurship, the Vice Provost of Academics, the Vice Provost of Research, the Vice Provost of Strategic Initiatives, and the Dean of Academic Administration. The Academic Council is responsible for all academic matters of the university.

The Faculty Senate is the governance body of the faculty. The Faculty Senate consists of 14 members representing various faculty ranks and was first constituted in 2012. The Faculty Senate meets regularly with the President, President’s Cabinet and the Provost.

Additionally, faculty, staff, and students are involved in governance, mainly through membership on university-wide and school and department committees and various task forces. Most notably, two faculty members serve on Board of Trustees. In addition, two faculty members serve in each of the following committees of the Board of Trustees on staggered two-year terms: i) Alumni and Development, ii) Finance, iii) Institute Facilities, iv) Investment, v) Nomination and Corporate Governance, vi) Research Enterprise and Technology Commercialization, and vii) Student Enrollment and Success.