Student Government Association announces election results

HOBOKEN, N.J. - Stevens Institute of Technology’s Student Government Association has announced the results of its recent elections. The ticket of Stephanie Spelman ’11 and Kendra Appleheimer ’12 has won the 2010 SGA presidential election.
Spelman, who will serve as president, and Appleheimer, vice president, are the first female president and vice president team since 1983, when Tina Pagnozzi and Jennifer Honeker won president and vice president, respectively.
The other newly elected SGA officers include: Jeffrey Lichtenfeld '11, treasurer; Nicholas Barresi '12, secretary; and Kyle Brisson '11, chair of the committee on student interest
About Stevens Institute of Technology

Founded in 1870 and celebrating 140 Years of Innovation, Stevens Institute of Technology, The Innovation University TM , lives at the intersection of industry, academics and research.  The University's students, faculty and partners leverage their collective real-world experience and culture of innovation, research and entrepreneurship to confront global challenges in engineering, science, systems and technology management.
Based in Hoboken, N.J. and with a location in Washington, D.C., Stevens offers baccalaureate, master’s, certificates and doctoral degrees in engineering, the sciences and management, in addition to baccalaureate degrees in business and liberal arts.  Stevens has been recognized by both the US Department of Defense and the Department of Homeland Security as a National Center of Excellence in the areas of systems engineering and port security research. The University has a total enrollment of more than 2,200 undergraduate and 3,700 graduate students with almost 450 faculty. Stevens’ graduate programs have attracted international participation from China, India, Southeast Asia, Europe and Latin America as well as strategic partnerships with industry leaders, governments and other universities around the world.  Additional information may be obtained at and