Campus & Community

Stevens 2017-2018 Faculty Awards Recognize Teaching, Research Excellence

Seven faculty members receive honors during ceremony

Six distinguished Stevens faculty were recognized with the university's annual faculty awards, and one member was awarded an honorary doctoral degree, on May 23 in the university's DeBaun Auditorium.

"The faculty members receiving these awards truly are the cream of a distinguished crop," said Christophe Pierre, Stevens Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs. "These outstanding scholars and educators represent a range of disciplines — proof of the excellence that exists all across our campus."

"Our faculty are central to Stevens' mission,” Pierre continued. "Their devotion to education and research has made Stevens the dynamic intellectual community it is today."

Ted Stohr
Professor Edward Stohr

Business professor Edward Stohr was awarded a Master of Engineering (Honoris Causa) degree in honor of his longtime contributions to Stevens teaching and research. Stohr proposed and served as the first director of Stevens' MBA program, and later spearheaded the successful effort to accredit the School of Business with the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business (AACSB). He is the author of more than 90 research papers and contributed to the creation of Stevens' strategic plan, The Future. Ours to Create.

Samantha Kleinberg
Professor Samantha Kleinberg

Computer science professor Samantha Kleinberg received the Provost’s Early Career Award for Research Excellence, honoring her pathbreaking work in causal inference, the analysis of time series data and other big data, and biomedical informatics. Kleinberg's research has been supported by the National Science Foundation (NSF) and National Institutes of Health (NIH), among other sponsors; her collaborators include Columbia University Medical Center. She is the author of two books and received a prestigious NSF Career Advancement ("CAREER") Award in 2014.

Yingying Chen
Professor Yingying Chen

Electrical and Computer Engineering professor Yingying Chen received the Henry Morton Distinguished Teaching Professor award, the university's highest award for teaching and one named for Stevens' first faculty member. Chen's innovative research touches multiple areas including network security, data security, homeland security and personal safety. Her research has been supported by the NSF on multiple occasions, including an NSF CAREER Award in 2010.

Hongjun Wang
Professor Hongjun Wang

Professor Hongjun Wang in the Department of Biomedical Engineering, Chemistry and Biological Sciences received the Provost’s Award for Academic Entrepreneurship & Enterprise Development. Professor Wang and his group use multifaceted, innovative strategies and deploy advanced technologies to address some clinically relevant challenges in wound repair, segmental bone defect reconstruction and non-invasive cancer therapy and diagnosis. His group also performs cutting-edge research on the creation of miniaturized tissues for personalized medicine and the mechanistic understanding of cell-microenvironment reciprocal regulations. This research is supported by NSF and NIH, among other sources.

Kevin Ryan
Professor Kevin Ryan

Business professor Kevin Ryan Ph.D. '96 received the Alexander Crombie Humphreys Distinguished Teaching Associate award for the second time in his Stevens career. Ryan served more than two decades as a researcher for AT&T Bell Laboratories, working on problems of wireless communications, high-speed networking and local access, before joining Stevens as a faculty member in 2001.

Jan Cannizzo
Professor Jan Cannizzo

Mathematical sciences professor Jan Cannizzo '07 M.S. '07 was named the Harvey N. Davis Distinguished Teaching Assistant Professor. Cannizzo has published on varied topics in group theory and dynamical systems including invariant random subgroups, sofic groups and random walks. He has taught in the department since 2014.

Michael Parfett
Professor Michael Parfett

Business professor Michael Parfett received the Provost’s Award for Excellence in Online Teaching. Parfett, a former Vice President with AT&T and a top-level executive with Salomon Brothers in the financial industry, he has spent more than three decades working professionally in information technology.