Alumni & Donors

SSE Celebrates Recipients of Virginia and Kevin Ruesterholz Award

Award sponsors Kevin and Virginia Ruesterholz with current and past award recipients - (from L to R) Kevin Ruesterholz; Richard Delos Reyes, 2012 award recipient; Lauren Gallart, 2009 award recipient; Joseph Manfredonia, 2011 award recipient and Virginia Ruesterholz.

The 2012 Virginia and Kevin Ruesterholz Award was presented to School of Systems and Enterprises, Engineering Management, student, Richard Delos Reyes on September 5, at Stevens’ 124th Convocation Ceremony.  Delos Reyes, the fourth recipient of the Ruesterholz Award,  holds a 3.7 GPA and is concurrently pursuing a Bachelor of Engineering along with a Master of Engineering in Engineering Management both of which will be conferred in May 2013.

The $10,000 scholarship which recognizes and rewards outstanding leadership and achievement in Engineering Management among the undergraduate student population at Stevens Institute of Technology was established in 2009 by Stevens’ alum, Virginia and Kevin Ruesterholz.  This yearly award is granted to a senior in Engineering Management with a 3.3 GPA or higher, who is an active participant of a student organization or professional society program and who best exemplifies the value of an Engineering Management education.  

"Supporting the growth of young minds is one of the most important things we can do," said EM undergraduate award sponsors Kevin and Virginia Ruesterholz. "Sparks of brilliance are ignited every day on this campus and we are thrilled to encourage the brilliant students at Stevens."

The School of Systems & Enterprises hosted a dinner to celebrate the Reyes and past winners of the Ruesterholz Award and provided an opportunity for the award donors, Virginia and Kevin Ruesterholz, who were also in attendance an opportunity to meet the awardees’.  The event was held on Wednesday September 5th at 7pm on the 5th floor of the Babbio Center.

Past winners of the Ruesterholz Award in attendance included, 2009 recipient, Lauren Gallart, who currently works as an Associate Project Manager at Jones Lang LaSalle, NY, NY; and 2011 recipient, Joseph Manfredonia, a ITLDP Associate Analyst at Johnson & Johnson, New Brunswick, NJ (2010 recipient, Anthony Shehab who works for BMW was unable to attend).  Dean Dinesh Verma, School of Systems and Enterprises, Professor Jose Ramirez-Marquez, Program Director, graduate Engineering Management, Professor Kate Abel, Program Director, undergraduate Engineering Management and Dr. William Rouse, Alexander Crombie Humphreys Chair in Economics of Engineering with SSE also attended the event.

Virginia P. Ruesterholz is President & EVP of Verizon Services Operations (VSO), a global, shared-services business group that operates Verizon’s wireline network and wholesale business, as well as the finance operations, real estate and supply chain services that support all Verizon companies.  Prior to her current assignment, Ruesterholz served as president of Verizon Telecom, where she was responsible for sales, customer service, operations and IT for the consumer, general business and domestic wholesale markets.

Ms. Rusterholz serves as Trustee & Vice Chair of the Board of Trustees, Stevens Institute of Technology and the Chair of the Advisory Board of the School of Systems and Enterprises. She graduated from Stevens Institute of Technology with a degree in chemical engineering in 1983, and earned an M.S. in Telecommunications Management from Brooklyn Polytechnic Institute in 1991.

Kevin Ruesterholz, attorney at law, heads Ruesterholz Law LLC in Morristown, NJ.  Mr. Ruesterholz  has a unique and distinguished background with over twenty-five years of corporate experience with AT&T and Lucent Technologies in international business development, contract negotiations, partnership development, and business management.  He graduated from Stevens Institute of Technology with a degree in chemical engineering in 1983, earned a J.D. from Seton Hall University Law School and earned an MBA in Finance from Rutgers the State University of New Jersey-Newark.