Pecoraro Takes Top Honors as E8 Announces Men’s Swimming and Diving All-Conference Teams

HOBOKEN, NJ– On Tuesday morning, the conference office released the Empire 8 Men’s Swimming and Diving All-Conference teams as senior co-captain Dan Pecoraro (Lodi, N.J.) was named the Swimmer of the Meet for his performance at the four-day championship in which the Ducks placed second overall to Ithaca College. The Ducks were first- or second-team all-conference in 15 events and tallied four championship records in the process.

Pecoraro earned individual first-team honors in the 500-yard freestyle (4:37.58), 200-yard freestyle (1:41.08), and 200-yard backstroke (1:52.06) as his time in the 200-free was a new meet- and school-record. He was also a member of the 800-yard freestyle relay team that took first-team honors and turned in a time of 6:50.50. That time narrowly missed a new school-record but was good for a championship mark. Rounding out that squad was senior Evan Wilson (Oak Harbor, Wash.), freshman Conor Arcuri (Beaverton, Ore.), and freshman Nick Noga (Oriskany, N.Y.). Freshman Joe Huyett (Blandon, Pa.), Pecoraro, freshman Tyler Hessler (Southbury, Conn.), and senior co-captain Matthew Preedy (Southampton, Pa.) also garnered a first-team nod with their win in the 400-yard freestyle relay. The quartet turned in a school- and meet-record time of 3:03.92.

The 200-yard freestyle relay team of Huyett, junior Carl Nagle (Little Silver, N.J.), Preedy, and Hessler were first-team All-Empire 8 after winning that event, while Wilson set a school- and meet-record with his 1:52.06 in winning the 200-yard individual medley. Wilson also earned first-team honors for victories in the 400-yard individual medley (4:01.67) and 1,650-yard freestyle.

Second-team All-Empire 8 selections included Hessler in the 50-yard freestyle (21.30), freshman Brian Ginebaugh Rockford, Mich.) in the 100-yard breaststroke (52.75) and 200-yard breaststroke (2:09.62), and sophomore Greg Charriez (Mohegan Lake, N.Y.) in the 100-yard backstroke (52.75).

The team of Pecoraro, Wilson, Charriez, and Hessler were second-teamers in the 400-medley relay (3:28.35), while Charriez, Preedy, sophomore Daniel Munt (Raleigh, N.C.), and Hessler took home second-team accolades in the 400-medley relay (3:28.35).

Duck junior Benjamin Watkins (Michigantown, Ind.) was the Stevens recipient of the Sportsman of the Year honor.

About Stevens Institute of Technology 

Founded in 1870, Stevens Institute of Technology, The Innovation University™, lives at the intersection of industry, academics and research.  The University's students, faculty and partners leverage their collective real-world experience and culture of innovation, research and entrepreneurship to confront global challenges in engineering, science, systems and technology management.

Based in Hoboken, N.J. and with a location in Washington, D.C., Stevens offers baccalaureate, master’s, certificates and doctoral degrees in engineering, the sciences and management, in addition to baccalaureate degrees in business and liberal arts.  Stevens has been recognized by both the US Department of Defense and the Department of Homeland Security as a National Center of Excellence in the areas of systems engineering and port security research. The University has a total enrollment of more than 2,350 undergraduate and 3,600 graduate students with almost 450 faculty. Stevens’ graduate programs have attracted international participation from China, India, Southeast Asia, Europe and Latin America as well as strategic partnerships with industry leaders, governments and other universities around the world.  Additional information may be obtained at and