PEP Seminar "Galaxy Clusters from the Atacama Cosmology Telescope" in connection with annual Sigma Pi Sigma induction

Wednesday, April 17, 2013 ( 1:00 pm to 3:00 pm )

Location: Burchard 715

Rainer Martini / Edward Whittaker

The Department of Physics and Engineering Physics is proud to announce its annual Sigma Pi Sigma National Honor Society induction ceremony on Wednesday, April 17 from 1-3pm in B715.
Aside of the induction of four students into the honor society, the event will feature a seminar from Dr. John P. Hughes from Rutgers University.

Title: Galaxy Clusters from the Atacama Cosmology Telescope
Speaker: Dr. John P. Hughes (Rutgers University)

Abstract: The Atacama Cosmology Telescope (ACT) is a 6-m diameter custom-built telescope and mm-band camera in the high desert of northern Chile that has been observing the cosmic microwave background over the past few years. In this talk I will focus on recent results involving the discovery of new massive clusters of galaxies through the Sunyaev-Zel'dovich Effect and will highlight one spectacular massive cluster at high redshift that we have nicknamed "el Gordo."

Resume: Dr. John P. Hughes grew up in New York City, received his undergraduate degree from Columbia College in 1978 and his Ph. D.

from Columbia University in 1984. From 1984 until 1988 he was a Postdoctoral Fellow at the Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics (CfA). In 1988 he joined the AXAF (now Chandra X-ray Observatory) support team in the High Energy Astrophysics Division of the CfA as a staff scientist. In addition to working on the development and calibration of the Chandra high resolution mirrors, he has pursued an active research program investigating the origin, evolution, and nature of clusters of galaxies and supernova remnants using both ground- and space-based instrumentation. In September 1996 Dr. Hughes moved to Rutgers University where he is now a full professor in the Department of Physics and Astronomy. He has been author or co-author of over 200 articles in refereed journals. His awards include two NASA Group Achievement Awards, a Smithsonian Institution Special Achievement award, the NASA Public Service Medal, and the Rutgers University Board of Trustees Award for Excellence in Research. In 2008 he was elected a Fellow of the American Physical Society. He served on the international science working group (SWG) for Astro-E/Astro-E2/Suzaku and is now a selected member of the Astro-H SWG. He is on the Guiding Board of the Atacama Cosmology Telescope and is the Rutgers representative on the Board of the Southern African Large Telescope (SALT). He has also served on the following committees: Executive committee of the High Energy Astrophysics Division of the American Astronomical Society (2010-2013), NASA Astrophysics Subcommittee (2009-2012), Suzaku Users' Committee and Steering Committee (2005-present), SEU Advisory Committee (2004-2005), NASA "Universe" Legacy Roadmap team (2004-2005), Chandra Users' Group (2000-2004, chair: 2002-2004), Committee on International Space Programs, SSB, NRC (1998-2001), NASA HEAMOWG (1992-1995), and ASCA Users' Committee (chair: 1991-1995).