Alumni & Donors

Achievement, Contribution Distinguish 2014 Stevens Awards Recipients

Ten alumni and friends of Stevens Institute of Technology have been selected as honorees for the 2014 Stevens Awards, recognizing outstanding service to the university and notable professional achievement in engineering, science, technology, business and other fields.

The recipients will be honored April 5 at the second annual Stevens Awards Gala, hosted by WABC-TV meteorologist Bill Evans at The Plaza Hotel in midtown Manhattan.

"These individuals exemplify the hallmarks of a Stevens education, demonstrating the highest standards of excellence in their chosen fields," said Stevens President Nariman Farvardin. "We are enormously proud to count this distinguished group as members of the Stevens community."

The Stevens Awards program was established in 1937. Previous winners have included artist Alexander Calder (Class of 1919), prize-winning journalist Richard Reeves (Class of 1960), Segway inventor Dean Kamen, entrepreneur Greg Gianforte (Class of 1983), Nobel Prize winner Frederick Reines (Class of 1939), aviation pioneer Igor Sikorsky and Steven Sasson, inventor of the digital camera.

The 2014 Stevens Awards recipients are:

Charles V. Schaefer, Jr. Entrepreneur Award, recognizing an alumnus for extraordinary entrepreneurial and/or technology innovation accomplishments and success: Albert E. Sisto ’71, Founder and General Partner, Sixth Bridge LP

Stevens Honor Award, recognizing an individual for notable achievement in any field of endeavor: David Farber ’56 M.S. ’61 Hon. D.Eng. ’99, Distinguished Career Professor at Carnegie Mellon University and one of the original architects of the Internet

Distinguished Alumni Award – Academia and Government, recognizing an outstanding alumnus for success in academia and government: Frank Fernandez ’60 M.S. ’61 Hon. D.Eng.’01, former Director of DARPA and a retired Stevens professor

Distinguished Alumni Award – Business and Finance, recognizing an outstanding alumnus for success in business: Dwight Massey ’53, Massey Quick & Co., LLC (MQ)

Distinguished Alumni Award – Engineering, recognizing an outstanding alumnus for success in engineering: Jack Lipinski ’72, CEO, President and Director, CVR Energy

Friend of Stevens Award, recognizing a non-alumnus who has demonstrated significant commitment and extraordinary support to Stevens: Richard P. Widdicombe, former Director, S.C. Williams Library

International Achievement Award, recognizing an alumnus who has demonstrated significant international achievement or impact: Sang-Beom Han M.S ’85 Ph.D ’91, Executive Vice President and CEO, LG Display 

Lifetime Service Award, recognizing long, sustained service to Stevens: Robert W. Bosse ’50, Former President, Metfast Engineering Co. and A. Joseph Schneider ’46, Owner, A. Joseph Schneider Embroidery Co.

Young Alumni Achievement Award, recognizing an alumnus or alumna from the last 15 years who has demonstrated outstanding achievements in his or her chosen career after graduation: Cristina V. Martinez ’94, M.Eng ’96, Senior Associate, Thornton Tomasetti

Purchase tickets and register for the 2014 Gala at