Stevens CAREER Club Fall Symposium

Stevens seal on brick gate on campus

Workshop co-organized by Stevens CAREER Club and Stevens Institute for Artificial Intelligence (SIAI)

Continuing a tradition started last year, the Stevens CAREER Club is hosting two Fall Symposia events to recognize the Stevens faculty who received young investigator awards in 2022. Our second event in the series will feature a series of highlight talks from Professors Jae Chul KimJinho KimAbhishek Sharma, and Shang Wang on their research related to their NSF CAREER, DOE Early Career, and NIH NIGMS MIRA projects.

In addition to highlighting the wide variety of topics and innovations in engineering, science, and systems that have led to successful young investigator proposals, we will provide ample time for Q&A and discussion with our speakers. We hope that you'll join us to learn more about the exciting research and investigators who were recognized with these prestigious awards this year!


November 18 Symposium – The Gallery at UCC

Opening Remarks: Dr. Antonia Zaferiou

3:30 p.m.

Jae Chul Kim, Assistant Professor, Chemical Engineering & Materials Science, DOE Early Career Award

Designing Chemical Disorder in Solid-State Superionic Conductors

3:50 p.m.

Jinho Kim, Assistant Professor, Biomedical Engineering, NSF CAREER Award

Biomechanics of Tension-Induced Lung Tissue Fracture and Subsequent Pulmonary Air Leak

4:10 p.m.

Abhishek Sharma (Recorded), Assistant Professor, Chemistry and Chemical Biology, NIH NIGMS MIRA Award

Novel Acylborons and Alpha-hydroxy Borons to Enable Modular, Regio- and Stereocontrolled Synthesis of Bioactive Molecules and Protein Conjugates

4:30 p.m.

Shang Wang, Assistant Professor, Biomedical Engineering, NIH NIGMS MIRA Award

Multi-contrast Dynamic Optical Imaging to Advance Live Developmental Biology

Refreshment Reception: 4:50 p.m.

Event Detail

Date: Nov. 18, 2022

Time: 3:30-5:30PM

Zoom Link:

Co-organized by Stevens CAREER Club and Stevens Institute for Artificial Intelligence (SIAI)

Sponsored by the Schaefer School of Engineering and Science