For their exemplary service to the Stevens Alumni Association and the University, several outstanding alumni will be honored during Alumni Weekend with presentations of the Harold R. Fee ’20 Alumni Achievement Award.

The awards will be presented on Saturday, May 31, during the President’s “State of Stevens’’ address. The award, named after the late SAA executive secretary, recognizes outstanding service. This event is complimentary and will be held from 10 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. in DeBaun Auditorium.

Here’s a list of the awardees, chosen by the SAA Awards Committee:


Dr. Timothy M. Phelan lives in Wood Ridge, New Jersey, and is the Senior Project Leader, Project & Pipeline Management at Merck Research Laboratories.  He also obtained his master’s degree in 1993 doctorate degree from 2004.  While attending Stevens, he was a member of the Student Council, WCPR, Gear & Triangle, Khoda and the National Society of Collegiate Journalists.  He was also a member of the Stevens Baseball team.  Tim has been a Telethon volunteer, and a member of the 1989 Reunion Committee.


Andrew B. Sachs lives in Potomac, Maryland, and is Vice President, Product Management at Volican, a global leader in broadcast monitoring and media intelligence.  While attending Stevens, he was a member of Tau Beta Pi Honor Society and the Stevens Entrepreneurs Club.  He has been a long-time supporter of the Stevens Alumni Club of Washington, D.C.


Peter J. Bakarich, III lives in Hoboken, New Jersey, and is an Associate at Weidlinger Associates, Inc.  Peter has managed the design of real estate and infrastructure projects with construction budgets ranging from $10 million to $70 million. He has been treasurer of the Stevens Alumni Association since 2012, with responsibility for budget development and review.


Michael Manzella lives in New Brunswick, New Jersey, and is a Transportation, Sustainability and Land Use Planner.  While attending Stevens, he was a member of Khoda, Gear & Triangle, and the Student Government Association.  He is president of the Class of 2009, and has served on the Graduates of the Last Decade Alumni Committee.