Stevens Institute of Technology is a private co-educational research institution. Stevens Institute of Technology was created by act of the New Jersey legislature in 1870 and operates as a tax-exempt organization under Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code. As a private institution, Stevens is governed by its Board of Trustees, operating under the By-Laws of the University, and by its President.


The Trustees of Stevens Institute of Technology, as a private university, operates pursuant to its Articles of Incorporation and By-Laws and the policies and procedures adopted by the institution from time to time. The Board of Trustees meets on a regular basis and maintains a structure of Board committees outlined in the By-Laws and charters for each committee. The Policy Library is a repository of many of the policies adopted by the institution and is updated on a regular basis.

Stevens Leadership

Appointed by the Board of Trustees, the president of Stevens Institute of Technology is responsible for supervision of all university affairs and for overseeing progress toward the university’s strategic goals. The president works closely with the provost, who oversees all academic programs and assumes the responsibilities of the president in the president's absence, and the vice presidents who lead major administrative divisions within the university.

Office of the President

President Nariman Farvardin

President Nariman Farvardin

Dr. Nariman Farvardin became the seventh president of Stevens Institute of Technology in July 2011 and has been the driving force for the development and implementation of an ambitious 10-year Strategic Plan, entitled, The Future. Ours to Create., which aims to transform Stevens into a "premier, student-centric, technological research university."

Go to the Office of the President

Board of Trustees

Stephen T. Boswell, Chairman

Stephen T. Boswell, Chairman

The Board of Trustees is responsible for overseeing the financial, administrative and academic affairs of Stevens. The Board is comprised of men and women who are accomplished professionals, business executives and educators, several of whom sit on the boards of leading corporations, international organizations and non-profits.

Go to the Board of Trustees

President's Leadership Council

The Torch Bearers Statue at Stevens Institute of Technology

Thought Leadership and Varied Expertise

The President’s Leadership Council, a distinguished cadre of extremely accomplished thought leaders from academe, industry, and the non-profit sectors, has been established to complement and propel the work of the Board. This Council will lend their varied perspectives and broad and deep expertise to provide guidance to the President and the Board as they navigate the abundant opportunities and ongoing challenges that lie ahead for the university.

Go to President's Leadership Council

President's Cabinet

Academic and Administrative Leadership

The President's Cabinet comprises 11 senior academic and administrative leaders who are responsible for advising the President on institutional decision-making across major university divisions, developing and implementing policy, overseeing core operations of the university, and acting as stewards in guiding the university toward strategic goals.

Go to the President's Cabinet