Stevens Institute of Technology

The Trustees of the Stevens Institute of Technology (commonly known as Stevens Institute of Technology) was created as an educational institution by Act of the New Jersey Legislature in 1870.

Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE)

Stevens Institute of Technology has been continually accredited by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education since 1927. The most recent Middle States action reaffirmed Stevens’ accreditation until 2018 and commended Stevens for the quality of the periodic review report and process.

The Middle States Commission on Higher Education is an institutional accrediting agency recognized by the U.S. Secretary of Education and the Commission on Recognition of Postsecondary Accreditation. It is a unit of the Middle States Association of Colleges and Schools that accredits degree-granting colleges and universities in the Middle States region, which includes Delaware, the District of Columbia, Maryland, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, the U.S. Virgin Islands, and several locations internationally. The Commission is a voluntary, non-governmental, membership association that defines, maintains, and promotes educational excellence across institutions with diverse missions, student populations, and resources. It examines each institution as a whole, rather than specific programs within institutions.

Information regarding the Middle States Commission on Higher Education and inquiries and complaints may be directed to:

Middle States Commission on Higher Education
3624 Market Street
Philadelphia, PA 19104

Website: Middle States Commission on Higher Education

Accreditation Board of Engineering and Technology (ABET)

ABET serves the public through the promotion and advancement of education in applied science, computing, engineering, and technology. ABET will:

  • Accredit educational programs.
  • Promote quality and innovation in education.
  • Consult and assist in the development and advancement of education worldwide in a financially self-sustaining manner.
  • Communicate with our constituencies and the public regarding activities and accomplishments.
  • Anticipate and prepare for the changing environment and the future needs of constituencies.
  • Manage the operations and resources to be effective and fiscally responsible.

ABET was founded in 1932 as the Engineers' Council for Professional Development (ECPD), an engineering professional body dedicated to the education, accreditation, regulation, and professional development of the engineering professionals and students in the United States. In 1936, ECPD evaluated its first engineering degree programs and Stevens and Columbia University were the first two programs to receive accreditation. In 1980, ECPD was renamed the Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology (ABET) to more accurately describe its emphasis on accreditation. 

The following programs at Stevens are currently accredited by ABET: biomedical engineering, chemical engineering, civil engineering, computer engineering, computer science, electrical engineering, environmental engineering, engineering management, mechanical engineering, and engineering with naval engineering concentration.

Information regarding ABET accreditation may be directed to:

415 North Charles Street
Baltimore, MD 21201
Website: ABET

American Chemical Society (ACS)

The ACS is a congressionally chartered independent membership organization which represents professionals at all degree levels and in all fields of chemistry and sciences that involve chemistry.
The chemistry program at Stevens is accredited by ACS.

Information regarding American Chemical Society accreditation may be directed to:

American Chemical Society
1155 Sixteenth Street NW
Washington, DC 20036
Website: ACS    

Inquiries and Complaints

Inquiries and complaints related to the Stevens Institute of Technology may be directed to:

The Secretary of Higher Education
P.O. Box 542

Trenton, NJ 08625-0542