High-Energy Secondary Metal-Sulfur Batteries Anode and Electrolyte Studies

Friday, February 28, 2014 ( 2:00 pm to 3:00 pm )

Location: McLean 218A, Stevens Institute of Technology

Nancy Webb, [email protected]

Dr. Lynden A. Archer
Cornell University
School of Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering
Studies by research teams worldwide show that by infusing sulfur in a conductive carbon host, it is possible to improve cycling behavior and lifetime of the sulfur cathode in lithium‐sulfur batteries. This approach simultaneously improves the charge transport kinetics in the electrode and reduces mass transport of active material across the cathode‐electrolyte interface. This advance is, unfortunately, insufficient for improving the commercial prospects of a Li‐S secondary battery. Using continuum transport modelling the talk will show that electrodeposition at the lithium anode can be stabilized through rational design of the electrolyte, salt, and anode/electrolyte interface. Building upon ideas suggested by theory, the talk will explore novel electrolyte and electrode configurations that stabilize the lithium metal anode against dendritic electrodeposition and premature cell failure.
Lynden Archer is the William C. Hooey Director and Professor of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering and co‐Director of the KAUST‐Cornell Center for Energy and Sustainability. His research focuses on transport properties of polymers and polymer/particle hybrids and their applications for electrochemical energy storage. Professor Archer is a fellow of the American Physical Society and the recipient of the 2013 National Science Foundation, Division of Materials Research, Award for Special Creativity. Archer received his Ph.D. in chemical engineering from Stanford University in 1993 and the bachelor of science degree in chemical engineering (polymer science) from the University of Southern California in 1989. He has been recognized with various awards, including the National Science Foundation Award for Special Creativity, the James & Mary Tien Excellence in Teaching Award, and the American Institute of Chemical Engineer’s MAC Centeniell Engineer Award.