EMTM Program Receives Certification
by the American Society of Engineering Management

The National Board of the American Society for Engineering Management (ASEM) recently granted Certification to the Stevens EMTM program at ASEM's annual meeting in St. Louis. The EMTM program was the first Technology Management program for Experienced professionals to receive ASEM Certification , and only one of three graduate programs recognized so far.

Not only was the EMTM program granted Certification, but it was also recognized by the ASEM National Board with its Excellence in Education award. The head of the ASEM Certification team, Dr. Jerry Westbrook, Professor Emeritus and former Dean at the University of Alabama in Huntsville, recommended the EMTM program for this award based on his first hand observations during the accreditation visit. Dr. Westbrook specifically told Dr. Harold Raveche, President of Stevens and Dr. Jerry Hultin, Dean of the W. J. Howe School that the EMTM program deserved national recognition because of its quality. This is the second time the EMTM program has won this award, the last being in 1999. Also noteworthy is the fact that the Stevens EMTM program is the only technology management program to have won this award twice.

Professor Don Merino (right), Director Emeritus of the EMTM program and Murrae Bowden, (left) current EMTM director receive the 2003 ASEM Excellence in Education Award from ASEM President Elect Harold A. Kurstedt, Jr., at the October 2003 National Meeting held in St. Louis.